FAQs DMR Standards

DMR Standards: Tier I, Tier II, Tier III

The DMR (digital mobile radio) standard has been adopted by manufacturers all over the world so that their products can be integrated into sophisticated solutions for your communication needs.


There are three tiers to the DMR standard:

  • Tier I products operate in the 446MHz band and do not require a licence
    and are ideal for consumer or small commercial operations.
  • Tier II operates from 66-960 MHz and is used for conventional radio
    systems where spectral efficiency is required, and facilitates advanced
    voice features and integrated IP data services.
  • Tier III covers trunking operation in frequencies from 66-960 MHz.
    This is ideal for those organsiations who need to handle voice and
    short messaging as well as packet date services including IPv4 and IPv6.